doc-to-be

10+ Year Member
Mar 12, 2005
Status
I'm currently in my first year of med school, and I've got this nagging feeling that I'm in the wrong place...

It's a great med school, but my heart just isn't in it.

Before applying I spent a long time trying to decide between med school and vet school. I'm obsessed with horses and had seriously considered becoming an equine vet, but I think I let my head choose instead of my heart.

Have any of you had this type of experience? Any advice?

bern

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 8, 2005
Status
Veterinary Student
Med school was the direction I was originally headed. I figured out it wasn't for me before getting there, but it was a tough decision. Since you've probably already got all or nearly all of the prerequisites needed to apply to vet school, all you'd need to do is take the GRE and get additional animal experience - not so difficult. It would be easier to switch career paths now while you're still in school than after you've gotten your MD.

But admission to vet school can be very competitive, especially if your state of legal residence doesn't have one. Perhaps you could continue attending or take a leave of absence from your medical school for a year while applying to vet school so you don't lose your place there in case it doesn't work out.

Julia22

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 8, 2005
Status
bern said:
Med school was the direction I was originally headed. I figured out it wasn't for me before getting there, but it was a tough decision. Since you've probably already got all or nearly all of the prerequisites needed to apply to vet school, all you'd need to do is take the GRE and get additional animal experience - not so difficult. It would be easier to switch career paths now while you're still in school than after you've gotten your MD.