I'm confused by the advice I was given

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Josephine Baker

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone!

I found out from the AAMC website that I could get assigned a prehealth advisor. And after sending the email I got assigned one which I thought was great!

After a couple of missed emails and missed phone calls, I spoke with my "advisor" for 15mn

A little about me:

I graduated in 2012 from an Ivy League school in NY in Neurosciences (I posted a bit about me couple of months back in another thread) with a 3.2 GPA.

I took all the prerequisites and they are between 7 to 11 years old.

I have a C- in CHEM II and BIOCHEM.

I started a DIY Postbac at a local CC last year(money is very tight now): 16 credits so far with 4.0.: A&P I, A&P II, MICROBIO, BIO2. I was planning to retake CHEM 2 AND BIOCHEM this fall.

I worked as a fashion model for many years to support my family(hence the low GPA: I was traveling a lot and had to miss class); I also struggled with health issues( tumors and multiple surgeries: this is where my motivation to pursue medicine and help those suffering from debilitating diseases and the forgotten ones come from)

I stop modeling to focus on my health and to repair the low GPA to get into med school.

I come from a minority background; very low income family(1st generation to go to college)

I do weekly volunteering in my community for homeless in my neighborhood church: hunger; distributing sandwiches and coats in the streets during winter and in the church clinic and I have one on one conversations with homeless; Once a month I also sleep in a woman's shelter so that the homeless ladies who are trying to get back into society can get a shower, a warm bed and a goodnight sleep.

I also volunteer in a nursing home feeding patients, giving bed bath, making beds, taking vitals, basically just helping the nursing staff wherever needed.