IMG friendly for medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

curious monkey

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a caribbean student applying for 2007 match in IM and was wondering if anybody could shed light specifically on university programs that are somewhat IMG and more importantly for me caribbean friendly. thanks

Members don't see this ad.

curious monkey said:
I am a caribbean student applying for 2007 match in IM and was wondering if anybody could shed light specifically on university programs that are somewhat IMG and more importantly for me caribbean friendly. thanks

I think the best way for you to go about it would be go to the websites and look at current housestaff. See who has FMG in thier program. Failing that, since many IM programs dont list thier housestaff, look at reviews of the programs on scutwork or valuemd.com. Sometimes the review will say something like 50% FMG or a couple of FMG in the program.

This is only a glimpse at what the program is like, since you don't know anything about the particular FMG in that program. He/She could have been a MD/PHD with three years of private practice under thier belt. AND scored in the 99% on step one and two.

Asking like this wont get many responses, and the ones that do respond may be in New York and you may be looking at the Midwest

Now that ive said this, your going to get 200 responses. Go figure

Follow this link. Some people say it is a bit dated, however it will give you an idea of established programs that are known to be IMG friendly.

Members don't see this ad :)
curious monkey said:
Go to the web sites of Ross and St Georges ..their matches are posted.Those are the places that take IMGs for medicine.Although there are a few other places that do as well,this is a fairly complete list.

Three words for you: "New York City".

Can a carib grad with Step 1 >90% have a shot at the top 20 IM programs?