Quantcast

Issues regarding CPT and volunteering

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thedailystruggler

Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
Hey, international student here.

Do all international pre-med students need CPT just to volunteer in a hospital off-campus? I talked to my school's international students' office a few weeks ago and all they told me was that CPT was unnecessary if I plan to volunteer strictly as community service. That means I can't put down my volunteering/clinical experience anywhere, not even on a med school application or resumé. However, if I do want to put my clinical experience anywhere, I need CPT. And get this: CPT requires that my volunteering have something to do with my curriculum and major, which is impossible since my major is Psychology, and there's no pre-med major at my school. I'm already a sophomore with zero to no clinical experience, and in desperate need of some.

How do you guys do it?

Sincerely,
Charlie

mellie0

Reaction score
They’re being unnecessarily difficult. I never had that problem in my school. You’re not getting paid as a volunteer so I don’t know why it would have to count as CPT. And if you are part of an experience, I don’t know how they’re going to preclude you from putting it on your resume. Your resume isn’t some sort of federal document. It’s a personal piece of paper immigration people have no business looking at. It all sounds so bs to me. Sorry you’re dealing with that.

Reactions: 1 user

thedailystruggler

Reaction score