Location > Cost

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OBI603

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm wondering if it's just me but is there anybody that would rather go for the location of a school over cost. I understand that cost is important because that determines the amount of debt but lets face it, there are more appealing places in this country than others with more appealing people. I'm a Pennsylvania resident but I'm a little tired of the northeast and would rather try a place totally different. If you had the choice of going to one of the top tier cities in the country for school (San Francisco, New York, Los Angeles) rather than a cheaper school would you go for the top city?

Members don't see this ad.

Nope.

Lets say you had the option of a 300K school and a 400K school in a cool city. Would you pay 100+ grand (after interest) just to live in a certain city for 4 years? Not a chance. :D

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm trying to decide between my state school and UCSF. If I go to my state school, I'd graduate with 155K in debt because my parents are able to pay for living expenses and accrued interest. At UCSF, my parents wouldn't be able to cover for the higher living expenses and interest rates so I would graduate >235K in debt.