Losing Texas residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chocolate__chicken

2+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

It seems I've found myself in a sticky situation and I don't know the answer to my problems or even who really to ask. So here's what I'm dealing with: I am a Texas resident, taking the MCAT in Sept of this year and planning on applying next summer to Matriculate in the fall of 2018. As a resident of Texas I know that my chances of getting into publicly funded schools here in Texas are vastly greater than if I wasn't a Texas resident. I currently live in San Antonio but am planning on moving to NY or Boston in the fall post MCAT. I plan on being in the Northeast for 1 to 2 years before I return to attend medical school. If I do this will I lose my status as a resident in Texas? Is there a way around this?

Members don't see this ad.

How old are you? Are you a dependent?

If you are a dependent, and the person who claims you on taxes lives in Texas, you'll be fine.

There're a few ways to claim residency, and I think having gone to HS in Texas will net you the residency status. TMDSAS has a section on this on their website if you want to check

Members don't see this ad :)
If that's you in your profile pic is delete it asap. Have some privacy.

Reactions: 1 user
The residency rules are spelled out on the TMDSAS site, but from what I recall, that sounds like you will be relinquishing your residency... But read the rules first! What we say doesn't matter; what they say does.

If you want to go to a state owned medical school in Texas, moving to New York or Boston is really stupid. Given the scenario you suggest, I think you would fail the residency test. Here is the link to the TMDSAS page:
https://www.tmdsas.com/medical/residency.html