Might transfer next year - what do I need to do to stay competitive?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted826437

Hello all,

I am making this post to seek guidance/advice about the activities and relationships that I should prioritize during my next 2 years as a transfer student (and whether or not its a terrible idea).

I am currently in my second year at a regional university and majoring in Biology, with intentions of going to medical school. While I have by no means had a terrible experience at my current school, I have been disappointed by the lack of community on my campus and I am fearful that I might miss my only shot at being a part of a community that has diverse passions, truly cares about making a difference, loves to learn, and loves their school, so I am leaning towards transferring in the fall, in hopes of finding this.

So far, I believe that I have made pretty good progress as far as stats/EC's relevant for med school apps:

- will have 500+ hours of bench research experience by this summer (w/ 1 state and 1 international level conference poster presentations + possible publication in a minor journal)
- T.A. as a sophomore.
- led an after school sports program for local refugees.
- Volunteered regularly with a barrier reduction program that works improve access to healthcare for refugees with mental health disorder.
- Developed very close relationships with a professor/research mentor (PI), and the director of our honors college (also a professor of mine but not in my major).
-Cumulative GPA of 3.80 (will improve next semester).

so here are my questions:

-I love my research, but if I transfer, should I focus on gaining patient care/contact/med exposure, rather than focusing my efforts on joining a new lab? All of my EC's are pretty lopsided in favor of research lab time, so is this something that I need to work on compensating for?