Missing 1 Pre-Req, already graduated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

oatstudent123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all. I graduated undergrad in 2014. Took a year off and just took my OAT a few weeks ago. I made a 340AA/330TS. My cum GPA is a 3.35 and science GPA is 3.0. I applied to UHCO (1st choice), RSO, NOVA, and Maryland. I also successfully completed the summer TEXOCOP program at UHCO. I have 150 hrs shadowing an optometrist. At this point my optomcas is completed and submitted, just waiting on verification.

Here is the problem. I never took Biochemistry. I know this will sound ridiculous, but I just followed what my advisor told me in undergrad and took the classes she suggested. I did not notice that I needed to take Biochem for optometry school, and she never told me either. I just learned yesterday from a friend that it is indeed a requirement.

My question is, has anyone ever gotten a pre-req waived by optometry school? I'm mainly interested in UHCO because it is my primary choice, but any advice would be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I don't think they would simply "waive" a required pre requisite. You might have to take it at a community college or somewhere before you start Optometry school. The best thing to do is call the school, explain your situation and see what they say.

I'm almost certain they will not waive the prerequisite. I also don't think i'd recommend giving the UHCO the full story as to why you didn't take biochem. They would probably see it as a lack of preparation on your part, not researching the prerequisites for schools you're applying to (especially your top school). They'll probably tell you to take it online or at a community college.

Members don't see this ad :)