Moonlighting outside of anesthesia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

minwoo

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
As a CA-1+ with a valid medical license, is it at all possible to do some moonlighting in the ER or an Urgent Care center? I know many will find this incredulous as most go into anesthesia to avoid having to deal with this type of work, but my goal has always been medical missions along with being a physician of versatility that can treat as wide a range of patients as possible. While there are many opportunities in anesthesia for this, it would also be nice to retain some of the more "basic" skills of draining an abscess, suturing up a laceration, treating common bacterial/viral infxns, etc..

Btw, I'm a 4th year student towards the end of the interview season and am totally psyched to have been able to interview at some amazing programs!!

Members don't see this ad.

As a CA-1+ with a valid medical license, is it at all possible to do some moonlighting in the ER or an Urgent Care center? I know many will find this incredulous as most go into anesthesia to avoid having to deal with this type of work, but my goal has always been medical missions along with being a physician of versatility that can treat as wide a range of patients as possible. While there are many opportunities in anesthesia for this, it would also be nice to retain some of the more "basic" skills of draining an abscess, suturing up a laceration, treating common bacterial/viral infxns, etc..

Btw, I'm a 4th year student towards the end of the interview season and am totally psyched to have been able to interview at some amazing programs!!