This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Moonlighting at Psychiatric Hospital: What to Wear?

• Dark-colored, tailored scrubs would be fine, even in the daytime on weekends.

Votes: 5 29.4%
  • Scrubs are fine for nighttime, but stick to professional attire during the day.

Votes: 6 35.3%
  • No scrubs - when at work, always dress to impress.

Votes: 6 35.3%

• Total voters

psychopharmer

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, all! I'm a PGY-3 psychiatry resident starting a moonlighting position soon and I'm wondering what you all think appropriate attire would be. The answer is, of course, "that depends," so I'm just looking for general thoughts.

I will be working at an inpatient state psychiatric facility, functioning as the on-call attending. My hours will be roughly 6P-7A on weeknights, or 6P on Friday to 7A on Monday. My duties will be to accept and evaluate new admissions, as well as fielding calls from the units. I won't be rounding on existing inpatients except in unusual circumstances.

Within my residency program, we wear scrubs while taking overnight call and while working during the day on weekends. So, my main question is - should I be wearing dress clothes during the weekend daytime hours, or could I wear black or navy tailored scrubs? I want to look professional, but I could potentially have a lot of downtime and I don't want to hang around in stiff clothing if I can avoid it. Thanks for your input!

Members don't see this ad.

First things first, you are not a surgeon

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
why not business casual at first, until you get a feel for the place, a chance to ask someone without looking like a noob, or the chance you run into any other docs that do nights and just ask them?

that's what they told me in med school at least
occasionally overdressed but not too bad

I feel ya, I live in overglorified PJs aka scrubs given the chance

Reactions: 1 users