Jun 21, 2011
Albuquerque, NM
Status
Pre-Veterinary
Hey all, first time posting. Here goes nothing.

So I'm one of the hopeful applicants with a lower GPA. Right now I'm at about a 3.2 overall, with my science being even lower than that. I started off my first couple years dealing with some difficult life-changing events. I have been told not to disclose what I went through, as it reflects negatively on me.

Although I have a much lower GPA than most successful applicants, I have nearly 6 years of experience working at a very successful small-animal vet hospital (now working as emergency tech/assistant), spent 6 months as a volunteer keeper at one of the nearby wildlife sanctuaries, spent 9 months volunteering in the Enrichment Program at our local zoo, am the founding president of the Pre-Vet club at my University, volunteered for a summer in an avian lab on campus inputting and editing data, and I volunteer at a crisis call center.

I am worried that they will take one look at my grades and say no.

I haven't taken the GRE yet and am hoping to redeem myself with a kick ass grade. I also have at least 3 more semesters left, so I'm gonna work on getting an upward trend for the tail end of my BS in Bio.

I guess I'm just feeling a little discouraged lately. I am certainly not ready to give up, but I'm scared that I won't make it.

Anyone got any hope?

oxyjen

UPenn c/o 2016
Nov 21, 2011
New Jersey
Status
Veterinary Student
Hi lionking101! I take it you are applying for cycle c/o 2017 since you haven't taken your GRE's yet?? What classes do you have left to take? My suggestion is to do exceptionally well in the next two semesters if you can...