This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Emdenopt

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so I would really appreciate some advice.

I'm a sophomore (Chem major, pre-med). My school uses a plus/minus grading system; in order to pass a class you have to get at least a C (you fail with a C-). We can replace our grade if we fail a class and the new grade will be factored into our GPA while the other one is not. The thing is, we can only do this 3 times. So, I got a C- in chem and genetics and a D in calc. Those are my worst grades (obviously) and I have retaken all three of those classes and passed them with A's and B's.

Now the thing is, I don't know what to do. I don't know if it'll be best to replace the three grades now so my gpa can go up (I'm trying to get into a summer research program at my school and if I replace all three grades I will meet their gpa requirement and will be able to apply) or if I should "save" them just in case. For sure I'd replace my chem grade (since it's a req for med school), but I would keep those other two replacements unused in case I would need them in the future (the only reason I'm thinking about this is because I still need orgo and physics and I'm terrified/don't know what to expect).

So I don't know. Part of me wants to replace these three grades so I can move on and pursue opportunities I would be able to go for when my gpa goes up because of the replacement, but then again I'm scared I'll do poorly in, lets say Physics, and (although I'll still have to retake it) it will drag down my gpa and I won't be able to do anything about it at that point since I used my three replacement opportunities. I'm scared of making the wrong choice and regretting it later. Then again I'm scared I will actually do well in orgo/physics and wait all this time and not be able to do the things I want to, which I will be able to do now if I replace these grades.

Any advice?