Nephrology residence

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RodD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a medical student from Peru. I am coursing the 5th year of Medicine. Here, most medical schools consider 3 years of Basic Sciences, 3 years of Clinics and 1 year of Internship. After you graduate, you recibe the title of "Médico Cirujano", which could be considered as General Medicine.

Since I really like Nephrology, I've been considering going into Nephrology residence and I would like to do it abroad. I've been thinking about Canada, UK, Spain and France (though I am just starting to learn french).

Which country do you think it's the best to look for a way (either the ones I am thinking or other countries)?

By the way, I've been doing some research and I feel quite frustrated since it's pretty much hard to start any residence on every country I was thinking, but Spain.

I would really appreciate your answers and information related to the topic.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

If this is your last year of medical training, and you have not already thought about and prepared how to enter the US medical system, it is probably too late. Students outside the US that intend to do so start that preparation and planning very very early on. It is a path that takes many years and additional steps and is extremely competitive.

The US system is different, although similar to what you describe in Peru.