MD Neurology Residency in California with 215 step 1 score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JujuWeasley

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a third year medical student in the south where I grew up. My family recently moved to California LA area and I would like to live close to my family. I did pretty terrible and got 215 for step 1 score, and I was wondering how competitive neurology programs are in LA area. Do you think I have a chance? and what programs should I look into?

Thank you for your help!

Members don't see this ad.

From when I was trying to research this as well. Not sure how accurate but this was from their website/FREIDA.
University of Southern California/LAC+USC Medical Center Program
· min 195 step, avg 201-220

From when I was trying to research this as well. Not sure how accurate but this was from their website/FREIDA.
University of Southern California/LAC+USC Medical Center Program
· min 195 step, avg 201-220

Do NOT trust the Freida website - their step score reporting range is WILDLY inaccurate.

Neurology is also much much more competitive than statistics will lead you to believe. Many programs prefer IMGs over AMGs. Why? Those programs are either service based residencies that want residents grateful being slave labor or residencies who value research in which many IMGs have the opportunity to obtain ahead of AMGs.

For an AMG, the residency slots to applicant ratio is more like 1.2 to 1.

Members don't see this ad :)
Do NOT trust the Freida website - their step score reporting range is WILDLY inaccurate.

Neurology is also much much more competitive than statistics will lead you to believe. Many programs prefer IMGs over AMGs. Why? Those programs are either service based residencies that want residents grateful being slave labor or residencies who value research in which many IMGs have the opportunity to obtain ahead of AMGs.