This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StudentX

Reaction score
Hello,
So I'm currently an undergraduate senior at a City University of New York preparing my graduate school portfolio for some PhD. Programs both instate and out fo state:
- SUNY Buffalo
- CUNY Graduate Center
- Syracuse University
- Northwestern
- Vanderbilt

There are some weaknesses in my applications:
- One F in physics of musical sound
- A weak GPA both overall and in the major.

But some solid strengths
- 2 years of research experience in a graduate school lab
- 5 publications
- Part of a NSF funded undergraduate research program

Along with some strong recommendation letters from faculty members from one of the schools I'm applying to and my lab mentor. My personal statement is strong and explains why my GPA is so weak and I'm currently preparing for the GREs and anticipate scores that match up with Vanderbilt's standards for their Phd. Program.

Can anyone who's either been admitted to any of the aforementioned graduate schools share if my weak GPA and F will strongly effect my admission into any of those programs? Basically, if I have to increase my GPA and apply during the next cycle.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,
So I'm currently an undergraduate senior at a City University of New York preparing my graduate school portfolio for some PhD. Programs both instate and out fo state:
- SUNY Buffalo
- CUNY Graduate Center
- Syracuse University
- Northwestern
- Vanderbilt

But some solid strengths
- 5 publications

Along with some strong recommendation letters from faculty members from one of the schools I'm applying to and my lab mentor. My personal statement is strong and explains why my GPA is so weak and I'm currently preparing for the GREs and anticipate scores that match up with Vanderbilt's standards for their Phd. Program.