This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maingram

Reaction score
Hi WAMC? I graduated with a BS in Biomedical Engineering in 2017.
GPA: 3.13 (fumbled freshman year but made deans list last couple semesters with GPAs of 3.6+ in 300 - 500 level bioengineering/science courses)
MCAT: 503 (first take 490)
Been working in tech consulting since graduation and volunteered with 3 non profits through work
Over 40+ hours volunteering in hospital emergency dept.
Recently began shadowing a couple doctors

Applied for Fall 2020 so my application doesn't show all of my voluneteer/shadow experience. Worried I'm not as competitive as most other applicants.

Recieved a few rejections already.
Waiting to hear back from a few D.O. programs: ICOM, PCOM, PCOM (Georgia), Western U. CHSU, NYITCOM, LECOM, LUCOM, KCOM
Waiting to hear back from a few M.D. programs: SUNY Downstate, SUNY Upstate, Howard U

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi WAMC? I graduated with a BS in Biomedical Engineering in 2017.
GPA: 3.13 (fumbled freshman year but made deans list last couple semesters with GPAs of 3.6+ in 300 - 500 level bioengineering/science courses)
MCAT: 503 (first take 490)
Been working in tech consulting since graduation and volunteered with 3 non profits through work
Over 40+ hours volunteering in hospital emergency dept.
Recently began shadowing a couple doctors

Applied for Fall 2020 so my application doesn't show all of my voluneteer/shadow experience. Worried I'm not as competitive as most other applicants.

Recieved a few rejections already.
Waiting to hear back from a few D.O. programs: ICOM, PCOM, PCOM (Georgia), Western U. CHSU, NYITCOM, LECOM, LUCOM, KCOM
Waiting to hear back from a few M.D. programs: SUNY Downstate, SUNY Upstate, Howard U
How recently did you shadow physicians? Before or after you sent in your applications?