This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Non-traditional-Pre-dent

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! Would love to hear some feedback on what y'all think about my timeline.
A little background- I graduated in 2015 with a BS in petroleum Engineering and worked for 2 years in oil and gas. Quit my job in the summer of 2017- had no idea what I wanted to do with my life when I quit, but I took coding classes at the CC just so I wouldn't be doing nothing. July 2018, I made the decision to pursue dentistry. I go to UT Austin.

Fall 2018: Ochem1, Bio1, Bio lab, general chem lab
Spring 2019: Ochem2, Bio2, Genetics, Ochem Lab
Summer 2019: Study for DAT and apply by July 2019
Fall 2019/Spring 2020: Biochem, Anatomy&Physiology, Microbiology

Undergrad Engineering GPA: 3.0
Target Post Bac GPA: 4.0
Shadowing hours: 20 so far. Working on it
Volunteering hours: none so far
Already took: Gen Chem, Physics, Statistics, English, Math

QUESTION 1: I will not be a full time student in either the Fall or Spring semester, but I am taking a heavy science courseload. How do you think this looks like to dental schools (considering I'm not working and I don't have family obligations)? d?

QUESTION 2: I get done with the Spring semester in the third week of May and I plan to do 6 weeks of hardcore studying so that I can take the DAT by end of June/early July. I hear it takes a month for your scores to reach the dental school. If I submit my application by early July and my scores make it in by early August, will that be too late? (Considering Dental schools have a rolling admission)? Also is 6 weeks of studying for the DAT enough?