Non-Traditional Student Seeking Advice!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

psychedelicstudies

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I'm hoping I can get some advice on my situation. I am 24 years old and majored in bio in college while claiming pre-med. After graduation I worked as a research assistant in a lab on a GI disease. This experience along with talking to many, many doctors guided me away from medical school- I realized it was not what I pictured or wanted. I went into consulting in a benefits practice (health care, insurance, general employee benefits etc.) in an attempt to see if I liked the "business side of medicine." Although I certainly do not hate it here, I am missing the close connection to the clinical side of things. This realization has caused me to reflect on everything- what I am really passionate about, why I was attracted to med school originally, etc.

I've always been extremely passionate about and an advocate for mental health care. I've always loved psychology. I shied away from it because I had just assumed I would go to medical school, however, even when I would think of what specialty I would be in, I would always prefer mind-body/integrative medicine as it included a more holistic view of health and included mental health. I've also had my own personal journey/struggle in mental health (have been inpatient before- but I am doing great now!) and have let that hold me back from pursuing something in this field, but now I am really seeing it as a strength and it makes me want to be in this field even more. I really enjoyed research while I was doing it and even did an clinical research internship in college for a mind-body medicine institute. I think I would really love to be a scientist-practitioner and would love the flexibility too in the future to consult for health organizations/agencies etc. and work on developing optimal systems for mental health care.