MD & DO Nontraditional student chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jnhh812

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Having some pre-application anxiety and wanting some unfiltered feedback from people who don't feel obligated to spare my feelings :laugh:

My husband and I both graduated with our Bachelor's degrees in May 2016 (my degree is Psychology, his is Criminal Justice). Immediately after graduation, I started taking my pre-reqs for medical school. I had ZERO heavy science classes, so I had a rocky start (especially with chemistry). I have never gotten anything below a B, but I have very few A's toward by science gpa. My overall gpa is currently 3.47 and my science is 3.1. I have worked as a mental health behavior interventionist for 2.5 years, so I have a lot of direct-client hours. I also work directly under our psychiatrist when he sees patients (I take BP, weight, and get patients checked in).
I have been a court appointed special advocate for children in DHS care for 1.5 years hours and am still active with it, so I'm projecting 500+ volunteer hours by the time I apply in May. I have not taken the MCAT yet, but I have been lightly studying and have bought the Kaplan prep books. I want to go into Psychiatry as a specialty. My school of choice is ARCOM. I live in Arkansas and they give preference to AR residents.

Here's where stuff gets weird: