OG shortage?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DoctwoB

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Talking about the tubes, not the gangsters. Have been told by admin at the VA that OGs are on national backorder and anyone not expecting to keep it for a prolonged period post op can’t get one (we’re told our very large referral center has 80 in the hospital and they need to last 3 months). Has anyone else encountered this?

I’m a surgeon and it seriously impacts our ability to do laparoscopy, both due to more dangerous entry and bowel distention. Can you think of any good alternative, even if not sumped, just to suction out the stomach at the start of the case? Feeding tubes maybe? Rectal tubes probably too stiff, foleys too short, egd too time consuming.

Members don't see this ad.

I’ve done anesthesia for many lap cases and never put in an OG tube unless specifically asked by the surgeon to decompress the stomach.

Why not do it on a case by case basis .... maybe ask the anesthesiologist not to bag after induction and just intubate, try to avoid putting air in the stomach.

Reactions: 6 users
Talking about the tubes, not the gangsters. Have been told by admin at the VA that OGs are on national backorder and anyone not expecting to keep it for a prolonged period post op can’t get one (we’re told our very large referral center has 80 in the hospital and they need to last 3 months). Has anyone else encountered this?

I’m a surgeon and it seriously impacts our ability to do laparoscopy, both due to more dangerous entry and bowel distention. Can you think of any good alternative, even if not sumped, just to suction out the stomach at the start of the case? Feeding tubes maybe? Rectal tubes probably too stiff, foleys too short, egd too time consuming.

I’ve done anesthesia for many lap cases and never put in an OG tube unless specifically asked by the surgeon to decompress the stomach.