Optometry Optomcas Help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DecadoSlade

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

I am currently in the process of applying to optometry school through optomcas and I am having trouble with the application.

I am a Canadian student so I am having trouble on what to enter to the application. My transcript encodes marks in the percentages, should I input them directly how it is on my transcript or should there be a conversion since I am a Canadian student?

The other question I have is in regards to credit conversion. My understanding is that 1 credit is 3 hours if it is a standard course and is 4 hours if there is a lab. So a full year course with a lab would be 8 hours and a full year course without a lab would be 6 hours? In Canada we only have full year courses or just a semester course, so I'm not really sure how to covert this.

The final question is in regard to the decimal part of the credit input. How would I know what to assign for a course?

I was hoping someone who has already done the application to help me. I wanna send this asap with no errors so they can review it.

Thanks Everyone

Members don't see this ad.

As a Canadian student your situation is pretty unique and I don't think many people on here would even be capable of helping you. OptomCAS customer service is actually pretty great, just give them a call. Good luck!