Orascoptic EyeZoom - are they worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AADDS

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Friends!

I am currently a Dental Student and am extremely interested in the new Orascoptic Eyezoom loupes. However, I wanted to do some research and read some reviews before I made such a large purchase. Unfortunately, I haven't had much luck finding information online so I was wondering if anyone has purchased these loupes and can give me an honest opinion regarding their value. Is it really worth getting adjustable magnification loupes or do you end up using one mag all the time anyways?

Let me know! Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I have 2 classmates that have them and like them, however they rarely go past 3x mag.

In addition to that, they are significantly heavier than any flip up loupes. If you can handle that kind of weight, and cost, go for it.

I can definitely see the appeal, but I would never get a pair.

I just ordered mine, after doing some research on the weight and comparing with others side by side.

Aside from the ability to change magnification, i also think the image I see through those lens are the best. It's really clear and sharp (they are Konica lens, which I really like as well).

I compared the weight, it's 93g for a devices that provide 3-5 x, a 4x normal TTL loupes weight from 68-75g depends on the manufacturer. A flip down weight from 82-95g.

I decided to go with the adjustable mainly because of the image and no that much weight different (hope I won't change my mind later, but that's what the 45 days trial period is for)

$ factor is not a concern for me (scholarship reimburse) , so I wasn't too worry on that but I know it's one of the most expensive loupes.

Members don't see this ad :)