This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

almo0318

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a third year medical student from a US MD program who would like to match Ortho next year. Before medical school I was a professional musician, which lead me to the idea of being a hand surgeon so that I could help other fellow musicians or craftsman who rely on their hands to support themselves.

I recently received my Step 1 score which was a 239 - about 13 points below my projected score. Instead of being upset by it, I plan on just moving forward and doing my best to show resilience after not attaining my goal. In my first two years I received mostly A's and 2 B's. I also was a tutor for the first year medical students and have a few research experiences, including a pending patent (none of research was in the Ortho field but I am working on a radiology project right now focusing on vertebral anomalies).

Question 1: Am I still competitive enough to have a good chance of matching?

Question 2: I've heard a good way to overcome a below average step score is obtaining good away rotations. Does anyone have advice on how to obtain/choose away rotations that are good fits?

Sorry for all the questions. I don't have anyone in the medical field in my family so I am reaching out to the online community for help!

Thanks in advanced!

Members don't see this ad.

have a few research experiences, including a pending patent (none of research was in the Ortho field but I am working on a radiology project right now focusing on vertebral anomalies).

The only thing I know about ortho is that to be competitive, you need to have strong research in ortho (ie not rads). So I would try to find some ortho-specific research asap.

I'll let others with more knowledge and experience comment on your other questions.