Oucom

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Buckeye(OH)

5K+ Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Okay, just as if I were to be accepted to OSU/UC/WSU/MCO/CWRU for allopathic school, OUCOM would be my first choice for DO school seeing as how I am an Ohio resident.

With that said, and from what I have observed, there seems to be few if any people here that are planning on attending OU.

Obviously, that does me no good :) However, those of you that are planning on attending OU or already attend OU, why did you choose it and how do you like it?

My ex used to go to OU and man, coming from a city like Columbus, it is going to be hard for me to adjust to a town like Athens.

THX
Adrian

Members don't see this ad.

I'll be attending OU-COM as a member of the Class of 2008.

I chose OU-COM because (in order of importance to me):

1- It's only 2 years in Athens, then it's off to one of the CORE hospital sites, and the hospital choices are all within OH. Also, most hospital choices are excellent (several have been named by USNews as "top 50" hospitals). The CORE system was the single most important factor in my decision to attend OU-COM.

2- The school and the city are very family-friendly, and the student body seems to be fairly non-competitive.

3- Two choices of curricular tracks, one being more flexible for married non-trad students like myself.

4- Clinical experiences start right away in the first year, and there are ample opportunities to volunteer in the community.

5- Good matches and board pass rates for previous classes.

6- It's still in the Midwest.

7- The school and Athens just felt "right" for me and my personality.

Just to give you an idea of how strongly I felt OU-COM was the school for me, after my acceptance I declined interviews at 5 other DO schools and one MD school.

Originally posted by Shinken
I'll be attending OU-COM as a member of the Class of 2008.