This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

h3llopanda

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, everyone! I just wanted to give some study tips for the PTCE and what I think really helps. I was really nervous about taking this exam and desperately searched this website on the best way to study, so I just wanted to put my method all in one place. I ended up being really confident with how much I studied AND during my test, which is definitely a good feeling to have!

First of all, let it be known that I put off this test for two years because I am just really afraid of tests. I kept telling myself that I was too busy to study for it, and it wasn't until I was about to apply for pharmacy school that I actually forced myself to take this test. Being a certified technician would only help me, so why not go ahead and get this over with? Also, I worked as a pharmacy tech trainee for about six months before I took this test, so that helped with some of my studying as well. I highly recommend working as a pharmacy tech trainee if possible in order to cut down on your studying.

Now it seems silly that I had such a fear for this test because I literally spent about five days studying for it. Here's exactly what I used:

1) http://www.pharmacy-tech-study.com/
Comb through this website first and write down as much information as you can (laws, how to do alligations, information about schedules, etc.), but don't worry about the practice exams yet. This website does a good introductory job about getting you familiar with some pharmacy related information, and isn't too overwhelming. Also, use this website to know which top 200 drugs to study.

2) Flashcards!