Pharmacist wannabe anesthesiologist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maldini99

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am a currently a pharmacy student. I am pretty seriously looking to get into med school after i graduate, and the reason is not that i dont like pharmacy, but simply all the great and very extensive knowledge that you gain in school, you never get to use in most cases. I enjoy being able to help people, but at the end of the day, in the world of pharmacy you just DO NOT make a difference, and that is sad. All you do is try to counsel some patients who dont even listen to you, and just want to get out of there. it can be very frustrating.

I am seriously interested in anesthesiology, and i must ask some questions, since i believe there is plenty of experts on the topic.

Will pharmD benefit me as a anesthesiologist? can it do any good? Maybe help in getting that residecy?

whats going on on the competitivness these years? I read that it is kinda in the middle compared to others...how can check this myself, are there charts or something...(i know this has been asked x times, but please try to emphatise)

are the residency hours crazy, like 80-100 per week? i have a little family so i have to mind them....

does being an international student, with a green card (permanent residency) can hinder me in getting into certain residencies?

what would be your general advice for me, as a graduate PharmD? would it be smart to go back to school instead of making 100k+ a year?

I sincerely apreciate any posts, and every comment is welcome

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hey everyone,