Physical Therapist Salary in Skilled Nursing Facility

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nikolavuc

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi i'm a new grad & had recently passed the NPTE and is now applying for a Full Time PT job, I have been interviewed on a Skilled nursing facility which offered me $32/hour, i don't really know how much should an entry level PT should be paid on a SNF, so your opinions are welcome :D is it a fair offer? or is it to low?

Members don't see this ad.

Not even close. $32/hour? Outpatient clinics pay better than that. Look elsewhere. If you're going to work in a SNF as a new grad, you should make at least $75k/year. Travelers at SNFs make $45-55/hr.

Not even close. $32/hour? Outpatient clinics pay better than that. Look elsewhere. If you're going to work in a SNF as a new grad, you should make at least $75k/year. Travelers at SNFs make $45-55/hr.
Even if I only have a bachelor's degree & on a rural area?

Members don't see this ad :)
My first job that I took right out of school in a SNF while working on a TL paid $36/hr in the South.

Reactions: 1 user
Not everywhere. The last I looked, the largest outpatient employer around here was starting barely over $25/hr. The saturated markets aren't putting up the money.

My first job that I took right out of school in a SNF while working on a TL paid $36/hr in the South.

Southern states in general pay the worst. Go west, my friend.

Callmecrazy: where do you live? $25/hr? I could make more waiting tables at a nice restaurant.

Geez... $25/hr is less than what PTAs make where I am in California.

Going rate for new grads in my neck of the woods in CA for PTs is $40 (outpatient ortho).

well it depends on the cost of living my current offer is $35/hr and the area has a very low cost of living (spring field, illinois)