Physician-Scientist dream... what should be done? Residency/PhD/Fellowship?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spikedoc2

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I'm a 2nd year medical student in a tough spot. I want to have a future doing translational research / clinical on spinal cord injury repair and neural plasticity - a post-neurology fellowship offered in very limited locations.

Now I am left to decide a few options:
A) The neurorehabilitation/plasticity fellowship I'm looking to sub-specialize in is extremely limited in options. Should I do my neurology residency at the same place where the fellowship is available? - the fellowship I want to do is on the west coast but I plan to return to reside back on the northeast. This makes me wonder if it would be better to keep my residency on the east coast, then apply to do the 2 year research focused-fellowship on the west coast?

B) Should I take 3 years off to do a PhD? My school offers that as an option, but I don't know if it is needed. The fellowship I want to do is already very research driven (50% time spent in basic science). I want to have a career that focuses on neurological clinical work (~70%) and also pioneering research (~30%) and/or development for bringing spinal cord injury restoration therapies from the bench to the patients.

Thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.