This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

glassbubbles

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So sorry if this has already been posted, this is my first time hanging out here. I'm a rising junior currently taking Physics 2 over the summer at Georgetown University (have not taken physics 1) and I'm consistently doing badly in the class, particularly on the exams - I'm guessing I might come out alive with either a C+ or B-. I really like the concepts, which I understand pretty well (the class by itself is super interesting), but the math and equations portion kills me every time. My GPA at my home school is pretty good, but I'm worried this class won't exactly help me - how much of a problem is getting a bad grade in physics come admission time/do I just need to stop worrying and just enjoy the material as much as I can? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Don't worry, get the best grade you can (preferably B or higher). No adcom is going to look at a C in physics 2 and decide not to interview based solely on one grade in one class. Just do well in your other courses and one blip will be minute.

Reactions: 1 user
....wait. You haven't taken Physics 1? How is that possible? And that might explain a few things.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I take it you're referring to algebra-based physics? And that physics 2 = E&M? Well yeah it's no surprise physics 2 is tough because you're trying to study something that is best studied using multivariate and vector calculus (and some linear algebra). The fundamental equations of electromagnetism involve vector calculus, and an algebra-based physics course will skip through these equations because they are too complex.

If physics 2 is calculus-based, yeah of course it will be difficult to do well because the concepts are difficult to understand.