Plagarism on acceptance to med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

justlive1998

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a biology pre-med student who really wants to be a doctor. Because of my aspirations I have always wanted my college grades to be high and unfortunately I took it too far. In my general chemistry lab we had to write weekly lab reports and your grade in the class depends on the TA you have. Unfortunately my TA was a harsh grader and I went to office hours to get help but my grades in the class were not improving. I decided to get help from a friend who took the class and did well before and used her lab reports to model mine. My intent was not to plagarize at all but I was going through a tough time with my mom having brain surgery and being so obsessed with getting an A that I took it too far and that was no excuse. My professor found out and I met her and I signed a disposition form and accepted the sanctions without denying the charges and was given an F for the lab which is 2 credits. I admitted to my mistakes and apologized to the professor and expressed my remorse because i still am truly sorry and embarrased for what I have done. My GPA as of now is a 3.65 but I believe by the time I apply it will go up to 3.8~ and i have not taken the MCAT yet but I am volunteering and shadowing a lot as well as being involved in organizations. My school does not put academic dishonesty charges on transcripts but I think it will be put on my record. Do i have a chance for med school? By the way I am currently a sophomore in my second semester.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Yes, your chances just dropped

How do you propose going from a 3.6 to 3.8?

Reactions: 1 users