This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which 3 minors would be most appealing to med schools?

• Bioethics

Votes: 3 50.0%
  • Business

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Informatics

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • Mathematics

• Neuroscience

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • Psychology

• Public Health

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Sociology

Votes: 1 16.7%

• Total voters

sp97

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi!

I am a freshman at SUNY Albany. I am an intended Biology major on a Pre-Med track. My academic goal is to go to medical school and become an anesthesiologist. My academic advisor had mentioned looking into minors to kind of "spruce up" my med school application (starting early). I was thinking of taking anywhere from 1-2 minors, MAYBE 3. My current course schedule between this semester and next semester includes Biology 1&2, General Chemistry 1&2, General Chemistry Lab 1&2, Algebra & Calculus 1, Statistics 1, Golden Age of Piano Music, Writing and Critical Inquiry, and Sociology of Culture. After looking through the list of minors offered at my school, the minors listed above are the ones I'm most interested in. Which three do you think would be best for med school applications?

Thanks for you help!

Members don't see this ad.

I will add to this and say that the only time my minor came up during interviews is when I brought it up because I thought it was interesting and wanted to talk about it.

The only reason you should do a minor is because it is on a subject that you want to learn about with the understanding that it will only help you if you choose to apply it. For example, minoring in biostatistics won't impress medical schools, but it may help you analyze and present the data in your research project in a more coherent and precise way. At the same time, minoring in 16th century Aztec political science won't impress medical schools, but it may be something you find interesting outside of your core sciences.