Pre-MPH epi, Mostly Bs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DarkCharism

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi
I'm an aspiring MPHepi student on the 4th/7 semesters of undergrad. I'm interested in the life sciences, and spend all my time studying but seldom seems to break the A threshold, which is rlly the only healthy grade for a growing GPA.

I go online to read about all these consistently high GPAs that I have no idea how people are getting. I'm apart of the optimistic school of thought that believes that anyone can do anything, but it just bewilders me what people are doing that I'm not that limits where I am.

Curriculums are designed so that students have to average upper 90s on tests and finals in order to get As. Tests have low question counts so 1-2 wrongs will vote you out, and questions plant twists not on any class/study material where what you've studied only gives you the minimum entry understanding to address and cap the amount you can prepare.
I am not saying this isn't a good way to access, I just want to know how.

I've been through tutors that can only consistently tell me what they can read from the books, plainly just studied more and juggled the concepts whenever I can. Nothing effective so far.

I have low total semester count, so its rlly easy to bring GPA down and little time to affect it while in declines:
My first semester went okay.
My following summer semester was were all Bs from the crammed sessions
Last semester was where I've started seeing this testing pattern, coupled w/ summer fatigue got my first 2 Cs
Current semester was suppose to be my comeback but unable to produce reciprocating results of additional studying. grade TBA

Situation
GPA sits at a 3.1 , 3 semesters remaining, where even w/ upper GPA averages, it'd be a meager .2-3 bump max. I'll still go for it but low GPA and being pre genetics have also been preventing me from getting any lab/research.