PSAT and SAT

greysxo

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm not sure if this has been posted before, but I would like a newer opinion on this.

I'm a sophomore in high school and I did not take the PSAT this year. I plan to take the PSAT my junior year and the SAT my senior year. I'm worried that I will not do well on the PSAT and will then not do well on the SAT. Do you think that me not doing the PSAT in my sophomore will effect the SATs?

Can you recommend a few ways for me to study for both?

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

The PSAT's only real significance is for the upper ~1-2% percent (depending on state) that qualify for National Merit from it.

For almost everyone else it's just an annoying waste of half a day! Don't get discouraged from it.

When the real SAT rolls around, most people get some SAT prep books (e.g. Princeton Review) and do a few practice exams. That's all there is to it. It's not an exam that is supposed to be heavily studied for.

Reactions: 1 user
The PSAT's only real significance is for the upper ~1-2% percent (depending on state) that qualify for National Merit from it.

For almost everyone else it's just an annoying waste of half a day! Don't get discouraged from it.

When the real SAT rolls around, most people get some SAT prep books (e.g. Princeton Review) and do a few practice exams. That's all there is to it. It's not an exam that is supposed to be heavily studied for.
Thank you!

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a senior in high school and PSATS were a waste of time and as for it's effect on the SAT I never heard of anyone who was set back. To study for the SAT's I went on Khan Academy and studied that way. It helped me get a 1380 and I got accepted into decent pre-med schools so I haven't considered taking them again.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi, I'm not sure if this has been posted before, but I would like a newer opinion on this.