Quantitative Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mepc95

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a chemical engineering undergrad (3rd year) torn between going to grad school in BME or to med school. I have two main questions.

1) Is there such a thing out there as a quantitative med school where instead of learning millions of slides and memorizing a bunch of things students go into more depth and apply engineering, mathematics, and physics principles in lecture/exams?

2) Is med school just straight up memorizing and regurgitating?

Thank you in advance

Members don't see this ad.

There's a great deal of memorization, but also plenty of comprehension based learning. That part revolves around understanding physiological concepts that are based in physics, but the med school part of it doesn't get very mathematical. For example understanding how pressure determines lung volume helps you deduce how your breathing is affected by pathologies that change the pressure or compliance of your lungs. You use physics by learning basic equations for this, but it's pretty limited. Same thing with flow questions in the lungs and cardiovascular system, you'll see familiar equations from undergrad physics but it doesn't get a lot deeper than that.

Basically if you're after math/physics and don't like the idea of having to memorize a lot of stuff (a huge amount of this in pharmacology and clinical guidelines/checklists that you have to know) then medicine probably isn't for you. Sounds like you might prefer the biomedical research/engineering path.

I am currently a chemical engineering undergrad (3rd year) torn between going to grad school in BME or to med school. I have two main questions.