Question about financial advisors- am I getting ripped off?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

crossurfingers

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new pharmacist- been working now for about 3 months. I took people's advice here and looked for a financial advisor regarding what to do with all this new income and what to expect with my taxes next year and so on.

I went to this guy today for just the initial consultation, which was free. He gave me a lot of good info and it lasted for an hour. He said for the next meeting he would look into my company's 401k plan for me and pick out which option I should choose and also he would calculate my estimated taxes for next year so I know ahead of time if I'm going to end up paying a lot or not. He's also going to come up with some numbers regarding my student loans. He said he charges $165/hour and that it would probably take him 4 or 5 hours to prepare all my stuff. That adds up to like $825 at the most. :scared:

This is my first year out in the real world and I just wanted some input as to what I should be doing and what to expect with taxes and what not. He's going to give me a detailed plan (he did ask me to write down all my expenses each month), but I'm not sure if this is entirely worth it or if he's ripping me off.

Members don't see this ad.

This advisor is providing a great service, however he is doing nothing that a competent person can do themselves with some research. He is charging more than practicing attorneys in some areas. What are his credentials? Do you think he is worth $165hr?

This is my first year out in the real world and I just wanted some input as to what I should be doing and what to expect with taxes and what not. He's going to give me a detailed plan (he did ask me to write down all my expenses each month), but I'm not sure if this is entirely worth it or if he's ripping me off.