Real MCAT score much lower than practice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

busymedic85

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I will have a TL;DR at the bottom but I am looking for guidance, observations, experience, and recommendations while I plan my approach for the retake.

Background - I am a nontraditional student. Poor grades early in college (undeclared major without a goal or focus) and only went because I was told I had to go to college. After that did not go well, joined the Army. Had a back injury and was medically separated after 4.5 years (honorable discharge). Injury and rehab time got me interested in medicine. I started classes at the local university in biology and also became an EMT. Worked in an emergency department (24-32 hours per week) while full time. Biology was never my strongest subject but I wanted to tackle it. My GPA was not amazing but I finished around a 3.0 (depending on how you calculate retakes, pass/fail classes, etc). First MCAT at this time was 27 (10 both sciences, 7 verbal) - frustrating thing was on practice tests, my verbal score was consistently higher. Applied. No interviews. Became discouraged. Did graduate from university and also took a paramedic program. I have been a paramedic for 3 years.

I took the MCAT again May 5 of this year following a 4 month period of Kaplan self paced program plus 2 courses through UNE (Anatomy and Medical Phys). I took 7 practice full length tests (4 Kaplan then 3 AAMC) and broke each answer down afterward. My scores were Kaplan - 498, 503, 507, 508, followed by AAMC 506, 509, 508. My CARS score in particular was consistently 126-129 among these practice tests. I also did daily 1-2 Kaplan Qbank CARS passages with the questions usually missing 1 or maybe 2 questions but noticed steady improvement.