Retake undergrad courses or do masters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WannaBPsyd

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in a rock and a hard place and I'm just now starting to reevaluate my options.
I graduated with a 2.9 GPA after double majoring in psychology and neuroscience and minoring in biology. I thought more was better and rushing out in 3 years instead of 4 would "look" even greater. I was wrong. I essentially over stressed myself, split my mind between 2 majors all while working 30 hours a week. Now that I realize that I shot myself in the foot, I need to figure out how to fix it.

My end goal is a PhD in clinical psych. I'm wondering if it would be worth it to retake 1-2 semesters worth of classes to boost my gpa or to go on and do a masters degree? Do grad schools view this unfavorably?

If I were to retake courses, my plan would be to apply directly for PhD programs afterwards, hoping I'll get accepted then. Is it even realistic to expect to get accepted to a PhD program right after undergrad?
The second option is to do a Masters, excel and then apply for the PhD.

Members don't see this ad.

I was in a similar situation. I took a few classes over to bring my GPA to a 3.0 and then worked in research full time for 4 years. With that being said, my major GPA was very high. Even if you retake classes, it's highly improbable that you will be accepted to a funded PhD after graduating. A master's can certainly help, I went the working route because I couldn't afford one, but either way I would highly suggest retaking some courses because your undergraduate GPA will be looked at regardless of whether you do a master's or not.