This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedStu10

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am having trouble coming up with the right school list for myself so I am looking for any type of suggestions.
GPA: 3.85 Upward trend : All A last two semesters. Should have 4.0 if I took first year more seriously
MCAT: 510 (84th percentile)- CARS gave me trouble since Im english second language student and did not focus on it enough
Good EC
Good Volunteering Experience including abroad
Research on yeast prions and heat shock proteins for two years.
Collegiate athlete 4 years at one of the best soccer programs in the nation in D3
Unique life story & background coming from Turkish/Bosnian heritage
I know that is a brief summary of myself but if you guys could help that would be great
I am a Kentucky resident and think I will be competitive for Louisville and Kentucky.
What out of state schools would I be competitive for? I am interested in Cincinnati and Ohio State but I think their MCAT score averages are much higher.
What schools would be safety? What "reach" schools could I apply to ? Any chance at a top tier school?
Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

I don't like the word "safety" in medical admissions because each school in and of itself is somewhat a crapshoot. But narrow down location first. Do you want to be in the Midwest, or would you consider either of the coasts? Invest in the MSAR on the AAMC website. Its only $25 and has all kinds of stats, matriculant information, etc. It was the best investment I ever made.

Reactions: 1 user
Your MCAT score isn't that poor. You have very adequate stats for both Ky schools as well as the majority of the private universities:

Dartmouth
Rochester
Albany
NYU
Brown
Einstein
Wake Forest
MCW
Georgetown
GWU
Tufts
Jefferson
Cincinnati
Miami
Temple
Drexel
Rush
Loyola

You get the picture

Members don't see this ad :)