Should I apply to post bad next year or wait?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ncmedfi

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a junior in undergrad that decided just this year that MD is the health path I want to go on. I am interested in the career changer programs at schools such as Bryn Mawr, JHU, Goucher I have only taken 1 Chem and had a not great grade of a b- but have a's in some other non-premed science such as anatomy among others. I qualify for these programs pre-req wise. I am wondering if I have a chance of getting in as a college senior or if I should continue down my current path which is to apply for Teach for America for after graduation then apply after the conclusion of my program?

- I am a Health Science major and will graduate with approx. a 3.7 cGPA.
- I will have great LOR from professors as well as MD's.
-I have experience as a research assistant
- and will have probably 100+ MD shadow hours (I already have 60).
- Will also by the time I apply have hopefully another 100 hours of hospital volunteer work
- I have received numerous scholarships in the health field

I have a lot of EC's
- a year as a D1 athlete
-started and ran my own club
- manage a sports team
- coach youth volleyball
- a resident assistant
- supervisor of a biometrics lab
- student note taker
- Music

Members don't see this ad.

If you are asking about whether you should apply to career changer post-bac programs right now or wait until after TFA that is a call you have to make. Do you think TFA is worth the 2 year commitment to delay pursuing your goals? The answer could easily be yes for valid reasons. It could just as easily be no. Only you can decide that.