This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeurosciencePrincess

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a rising sophomore and I have been looking into applying for summer research internships. There is one at my school and I am going to be emailing professors at my school. I just dont want to put all of my eggs in one basket and end up disappointed. I am an URM and was planning to apply to research programs that are on the AAMC site like AMGEN, SURF, NIH etc. Is it a waste of time applying to these programs? I know most of them are prestigous and receive a lot of applicants. I dont have any research experience under my belt and was hoping to gain some at one of these programs. I just want to know if I should stick to research at my school and not waste my time because these look like amazing opportunities.

Members don't see this ad.

So this is a very biased answer based on my experience, but take it as you will.

I applied to those summer research programs for last summer and didn't get any invites/interviews anywhere. I was pretty bummed because I had really gotten my hopes up about the the great research experience + decent cash for the summer, but I ended up finding a clinically related summer job that I worked instead (pm me if you want more details, it isn't something traditional like medical assistant or EMT). By the end of the summer, I was so glad I had done that clinical experience and actually worked with patients hands-on and now as a current applicant it ended up being a much more impactful part of my personal statement/resumer as a whole.

This is especially because I otherwise also did two years of research at my university, so I think the clinical experience I added is much more impressive/meaningful for my app than adding a summer of more research.