Should I drop and get a "W"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

afk1994

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a freshman and I have to take english as a prerequisite, which isn't so bad except I can't stand my class. I literally want to kill myself. Its a 3 hour credit and we meet Tuesdays and Thursdays for 1 1/2 hours. My teacher is a *****. She has absolutely no idea what she's talking about. I turned in a draft and she wouldn't except it because I had "plagiarized." By plagiarized she was referring to a direct quote from our textbook, which I cited correctly. We basically spend the entire class doing stupid worksheets which take 5 minutes to do and she gives us 30 minutes to do them. When I finish I want to put my head down or sleep or do other work, she walks around like an elementary school teacher and yells at us if we do stuff other than the work from her class even if we're done with it. After all this I decided to stick it out since I only have a month and half left. However, last week I got my first essay grade back. (She doesn't actually grade the essays, she grades our portfolios, which includes our essays and the stupid worksheets we did in class) I got an 80% along with a lot of other people in my class. She's a complete ***** and told a couple of my friends that they didn't turn in some of the worksheets when they were clearly in the portfolio. Even after they pointed that out, their grades didn't change. I had read the essays of some of my classmates who also got 80s and their essays were awful. Grammatical mistakes, incorrectly citing passages, etc. Yet they got the same grade as me. I asked her why I got the grade I got and she basically said that we don't know how to write at a college level and by the end of the class we will and that we'll get higher grades then. That's like giving a calculus class the final exam for their first test and then telling them they'll get be