General Admissions & OTCAS Should I give up on OT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

msuotwannabe

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’d really appreciate some honesty because I’m already feeling very discouraged. I am currently a sophomore in college and I’m really struggling to keep my grades up. I’ve already received two 2.0s (Cs) in my required math classes and a 1.5 (CD) in chemistry my freshman year. I will retake chemistry this summer, but I was disheartened to find out that OTCAS will not replace grades like my university. This semester, I believe I can end anatomy with a 3.0 (B), but I will likely get 2.5s (CBs) in two other classes that are more demanding than I anticipated. I currently have a 2.9 GPA and I will likely get a 3.0 or slightly below this semester. I am confident I can bring it up to a 3.0+ by application time, but then what? Most people seem to have a 3.6+ in their last 60 units.

I really, really want to be an OT. I love going to my observation hours and I can’t imagine doing anything else. I participate in lots of ECs to offset my GPA, but I already understand that it likely won’t be enough. I like the idea of reapplying after my senior year (more time to bring that GPA up!) but I do not want to spend 3+ years reapplying, and I don’t want to be stuck with two degrees (I’m studying psychology and kinesiology) that will not land me a job if OT doesn’t work out. School is just really hard for me.

I want to keep telling myself that if I schedule my classes better and take some summer classes, it might balance out my last 60 GPA. Or if I get 200-300 shadowing hours, it’ll make me stand out as an applicant. I really want to believe I can do it, guys. But realistically, I know how insanely competitive OT is and GPA will make or break me. Should I just try to find another field of work? Should I keep trying? Please help. :(

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: