Should I Void MCAT Score

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jarnel83

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'll make it short. I'm a very smart student, the kind that is confident and lazy. I have a 3.5 GPA, which has been a consistent upward trend (i consistently get above 3.6 per semester now). My shadowing is only about 35 hours in a single hospital with one doctor, and my volunteering experience is damn near non existent.

The key is that I take my MCAT in two days and am very unprepared. I drastically underestimated the effort required to prepare and I know that if I had I could perform extremely well. My problem-solving and analytical skills are my strongest and from taking the Full-Length Practices I know that content knowledge is the only thing holding me back. Since the score will be average at best and the rest of my application is mediocre, I was wondering if it would be wiser to void the score and delay my application until 2018 (rather than now in a week or two) which I think would allow me to drastically improve my APP and MCAT score. The other option would be to take it, probably score slightly above average and submit an application now.

The only problem I can see is with the fact that I will need to take a GAP year, which I didn't want. But I'd love to receive the input of this community as it seems to be the most well-suited to answer my question. Please let me know what you think. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

How many practice FLs did you take? and how did you perform on them? Honestly, If you feel like you aren't prepared for it DON'T take it, especially, if content is what holding you back.

Reactions: 1 user
@kdapik 's questions are necessary in order for us to give you advice. We need more info in order to advise you about such a big decision.