sick leave

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

teachtopharm?

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm home sick from work today, and got to thinking... how hard is it when pharmacists get sick or kids get sick if you need to miss work? I am a teacher and everyone at school gets a lot of viruses, and it is a BIG hassle if I have to miss work. Do pharmacists get sick often because of being in contact with so many sick people? If so, is it a hassle if you have to take a sick day? I would think they would want you to stay home so you don't spread infection if it is contagious, but I thought that about teaching too. So what do they do when a pharmacist is sick? (thinking of retail)

Members don't see this ad.

my mother is the sole pharmacist in a hospital (60 beds) and in the area she is in there are very very very few rphs to fill in

when she gets sick she puts a sleeping bag on the floor either in her office or in the bathroom (in the pharmacy)

she currently has a nerve problem that hinders her mobility. and initially she was virtually immobile (nerve is in the leg)

she took off 3 days and then had to bring a foam pad to lay in the office while techs brought her things to check

she works for a system so in theory someone else should have come over for relief
but no

major chains i'm sure have people who can work for you as do larger hospitals

just don't live anywhere rural