So, for the record, just in case there's any doubt in your mind -- this is not a real school (accredited or not).
If you do a little searching you will see that a search on the school name only gives you the website and references on various forums etc. where advertisements have been spammed. If you follow the links from Stewart in the news, 2 of them were on a pr website where anyone can add them, and the next 3 sites are dead links. You'd think if they were actually "the first school to open in 40 years" there would be some ACTUAL newsprint about it, especially because of the whole ridiculous "foreign school on US soil" thing.
It seems that Saul, the Stewart class "president" is behind most of the propaganda - if you look at his most recent youtube video, you will see him have a conversation with himself in the comments section. First he responds with the Saul account "newmedstudent" and when there are some replies questioning the school, he replies from a different account "ohmssoo7" who defends the school, and says that he has met the president in person and seen his AMSA card. Interesting since they are in fact the same person. It is very easy to deduce this fact since if you google this username (ohmssoo7) you will see that this person has been spamming every single premed board, youtube page, etc. with ads about Stewart. You will find a page where wikipedia has banned his account for trying to add a Stewart Med Page. And because he's a ***** you will also find a post where he tells people to go to Stewart med:
"New medical school in California opening up, e-mail me for information. Not a joke or a trick, I am one of you. Kinesiology major 3.1 GPA, mcat scores horrible.
[email protected] or
[email protected]"
Kinesiology major, eh? That's the same as Saul...
Oh, and here's a personal ad he posted which says that ohmssoo7=Saul
http://asiafind.com/p/member.cgi?dcb=asiafind&mid=1351169_60147
Oh and the website's a joke, of course...
I just have a few questions:
1) Who's actually behind this? (I don't think Saul is smart enough to create this whole thing -- seriously, dude, use a dummy account name at least...)
2) Are they actually making money off of stupid people?
3) Why are they targeting veterans?
In any case, I hope this clears up the questions about these poor med students who won't be able to practice anywhere, and when we will see their match list, etc. Mostly I wish I had money to toss around so that I could see what happens if you actually pay the PayPal fee to SEE the application...
The good news is - Gunilla is a real person!