Study tips for the MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

postmasterjosh

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I recently took the MCATs and did not do so hot. How I studied was by taking practice test and then reviewing all the questions and answer choices that I did not know. I studied for about a month and ended up getting a 498. Just looking for tips or how you guys went about preparing for your MCATs. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

There are about a million MCAT study guides on this site for you to browse at your convenience, here's my "guide" taken from my "highly successful" hSDN AMA:

Alright, here goes my MCAT/Big tests strategies.

1: Make a plan. Know how you study.
-Before you even open a book, you should hash out a rough outline of how your time is going to be spent over the next few months. For me personally, I know that I like to get a lot done at a time, and then take breaks. So for the 2 months before the MCAT, I planned on putting in a fair amount of work (6-12 hours depending on how ambitious/scared I was feeling) on the weekdays, and relaxed on the weekends. I also didn't take a prep course because I didn't think it would help me. Maybe you are different, and like doing a moderate amount of study every day. Whatever works best for you is 100% how you should study for the test. I broke mine down into five subjects, and tackled them one at a time, starting with inorganic chemistry and I ended with verbal I think.

2: Study your weakest subjects first.