To what extent should a PS answer "why doctor" over "why medicine"?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stunzeed

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've written a draft of my PS that I feel conveys my "why medicine" using specific stories and reflection from some of my experiences, especially my interactions with patients as an EMT. However, I've gotten some feedback along the lines of "well why don't you just become an EMT then?".

To what extent / how should one show that they are set on MD/DO over other careers in healthcare in a PS? I feel pressured to throw in a shadowing anecdote and reflect on the physicians I have seen, but to be honest my shadowing was not very meaningful for me.

Members don't see this ad.

Yes, we do want to know why you want to become a physician.

Reactions: 4 users
I'm only an admitted student, not an adcom or remotely involved in the admissions process, but I think it's best to write about why physician instead of why medicine in general. Your EMT experiences are great jumping off points: why not stay an EMT? Why not become a paramedic? What about it is unsatisfying to you? Reflect on that, and write about how you want to expand your knowledge and scope of care based on your answers to these questions, and how medical school is the best way to do that. Then, include other experiences that make you certain this is what you want.

In my humble opinion, including a shadowing anecdote can actually help if you do it right. My interviewers really liked my shadowing story in my PS. Maybe you shadowed a PCP and realized that while responding to a heart attack is rewarding and necessary work, you want to be more involved in preventing the heart attack through longitudinal care and patient education.

Reactions: 3 users
Members don't see this ad :)