unhappy nurses?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sainttpk

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello folks,

I have no intention of being a nurse, I am actually applying to medical school, but I have noticed that alot of nurses I talk to seem to be unhappy with their career choice. Maybe I am making a generalization, but I am curious is there alot of dissatisfaction among nurses in the field compared to other professions?

T.

Members don't see this ad.

Its a very simple problem to diagnose, anyone on this forum will tell you the same thing, this unhappiness mostly stems from underappreciation of nurses and the jobs they perform. Lets face it no one will tell a nurse that he/she is not doing an important job becuase that would be a flat out lie, but heres the rub, if they are doing such a great job why do they not get PAID for it. Nurses are some of the lowest paid health care professionals in the Nation. I can go on forever talking about the reasons why, but basicall it stems from three main reason. (1) Education credentials- lets face it a doctoral degree looks alot better then a Bachelors or worse a diploma. (2) Female dominated profession- If the male ration was 50%> things would be different money wise. (3) History- Pure and simple the struggle between Nurses and doctors is as old as medicine itself, with doctors having greater power and prestige nurses unions are in a constant struggle fro greater pay and benefits.

Now with that said things are looking up, more and more men are joining nursing decreasing its "feminization" and nurse unions are gaining for their members greater pay and better benefits. In a couple more years nursing diplomas will be wiped out and a 4 year degree will become minimum to becoma a registered nurse, so things are looking up.