US-IMG applying for Hematology/Oncology Fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AureliusMD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am applying for Hematology/Oncology fellowship in July for 2014-2015 application cycle. I am extremely nervous that I'm not going to match solely because I went to Ross University (Caribbean med school). I am currently an Internal Medicine resident (PGY2) at a New York City university program and our residents match into HemeOnc fellowships well (MD-Anderson, UNC, University of Michigan, etc). I have good step scores, have done a couple research projects and poster presentations, but I can't shake the feeling that being a U.S.-IMG will bite me in the butt in the end. Last year's fellowship match had 502 matches, only 45 of which were US-IMGs (most did not match).
My Stats:
Step 1 255
Step 2 259
Step 3 244
2 research projects in Oncology (co-author, not 1st)
2 Case Reports, 2 Poster Presentations, 1 Grand Rounds Presentation
2 Quality-Improvement Projects
Blood Transfusion Committee

Anyone have any recommendations to help, or any soothing words to calm my nerves?
Do I have a shot? Does anyone know of US-IMG friendly programs?

Also, I tentatively have 94 programs on my list for which to apply. Too many, even for an IMG?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
You'll match somewhere.. I wouldn't shave off too many unless it's top tier.

You're in as good a position as you can be given your Carib status. You're unlikely to match someplace like MDACC or Michigan but honestly, all you have to lose by applying is money, and you definitely won't match anyplace you don't apply to. It's not unreasonable to apply to something like 30-50 and then if you don't get much love (watch the inevitable interview invite thread that will appear here later) apply to more.

Members don't see this ad :)