WAMC - *Need help reducing/finalizing school list!!!*

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lickerwhicker

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
deleted for anonymity

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I think it's way too top heavy. I'd remove some top tier schools and add in a few mid range private schools that are out of state friendly.

Reactions: 1 user
3,78 is an average for ucla med school that cool. Try removing the "Maybe" and if you want remove the ones that aren't in California. You should be able to get into about 5 I think. applying to 10 med schools is enough.

Sent from my SM-G930T using Tapatalk

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm not an expert, but I'd say you have a good chance at #18-35. I would actually leave Miami and BU because they are mid-tier schools that fit your professional goals. UVA also has a lot of opportunities for people interested in refugee health/health disparities. I don't know much about UVermont, so I can't comment. If you want to trim, I would remove schools such as Wash U, U Chicago, NYU, Vandy which have median MCATs >520 unless you have a specific reason for applying. I would also check out Tulane given your interest in urban health, it might be a better option than OUWB, although you are quite a bit above their median.

Lol. Do not apply to just 10 schools as a Californian.

For things like diversity/urban & minority health, look at maybe switching out some top places and consider a few lower ranked programs like Iowa (Carver), GWU, Tufts, Tulane, Vermont. Jefferson has a lot going on in those areas. Maybe Rush too.

UCD and UCR have very specific missions so only apply if you meet those (for ex, UCR wants people with connections to Inland Empire and a commitment to severing the underserved).

Of the top tiers you've included, places that strike me offhand as having lots of opportunities in your interests: Harvard, Duke, Sinai, Emory, Columbia, UChicago, JHU